2011 Women's Collegiate All-Americans Named

2011 Women's Collegiate All-Americans Named

For Immediate Release

July 14, 2011




USA Rugby is proud to announce the 2011 Women's Collegiate All-Americans.  These student-athletes are recognized as the best collegiate women's rugby players in the country.  There are two lists of All-Americans, Division I and Division II. The Touring Squad will be named later this month and will compete in the Can-Am Games from July 28-31 in upstate New York.


The selection process to the Women's Collegiate All-Americans was a robust and collaborative effort.  Selectors included Martha Daines (Women's Collegiate All-Americans Head Coach) as well as coaches from the age-grade to senior national team ranks.  


Pete Steinberg (Women's National Team Head Coach), Ric Suggitt (Women's Sevens Team Head Coach), Bryn Chivers (Women's Under-20s Head Coach) and Alex Williams (Women's High Performance Director) contributed to the selections.


The list of Division I All-Americans includes 34 student-athletes from 17 different universities and colleges across the country.  The 34 athletes on the DI list and 28 representatives on the DII list were selected from a pool of nearly 12,000 women’s collegiate rugby players.


Selectors used the fall and spring seasons to construct their player pools for All-American selection.  The National All-Star Championship at Founders Field in Pittsburgh, Pa., last month and the DI and DII National Championships served as opportunities for selectors to refine the pool to the top players in each division.  


In addition to having the honor of being named an All-American, many of these student-athletes have earned invitations to a variety of national team assemblies:

  • 20 student-athletes participated in a Women’s High Performance Collegiate Academy Camp in Pittsburgh, Pa. in June
  • 9 are attending the Women’s Sevens Elite Camp at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif.
  • 9 are competing for the USA in the 2011 Women’s U20 Nations Cup
  • 1 player will compete with the Women’s National Team this August in the Senior Nations Cup
  • 8 athletes on the list have represented the USA on the senior women’s sevens team


The Women’s Collegiate All-Americans Touring Squad will assemble in late July to prepare for the Can-Am Tournament where they will face a Canadian select side. There are opportunities available to support and sponsor these outstanding student-athletes. Opportunities range from sponsoring a team meal to purchasing advertisements. For more information, click here.




Kyle Armstrong (Penn State)

Evelyn Ashenbrucker (University of California - San Diego)

Monica Jackson (BYU)

Nick James (Texas A&M)

Katie Johnson (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

Joanna Kitlinski (Grand Valley State)

Megan Liesenfeldt (Army)

Kelsey Mcilonie (University of California - San Diego)

Izraelle McKinnon (Brown)

Dot Mittow (Princeton)

Kayla Orvik (Army)

Jennifer Sandifer (Navy)

Wendy Sherman (Colorado State)

Cassandra Tong (University of California – Los Angeles)

Alycia Washington (University of Connecticut)

Frances Wehrwein (Stanford)

Ela Wolfgramm (BYU)



Sadie Anderson (Penn State)

Sharlyn Carter   (Virginia)

Erica Cavenaugh (Virginia)

Lisa Henneman (Penn State)

Brittany Houston (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

Kristi Jackson (BYU)

Anne Lee (Army)

Anna (Katie) Lorenz (University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill)

Blaine Martin (Brown)

Tyra McGrady (Indiana University)

Deven Owsiany (Penn State)

Kara Remington (BYU)

Kimber Rozier (University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill)

Jessica Sexauer (Army)

Rebekah Siebach (BYU)

Marie Timm (Army)

Amelia Villines (Stanford)




Candace Barley (Lee)

Hannah Bushey (Norwich University)

Ana Carvajal (Santa Clara)

Aoibheann Cline (Humboldt)

Loryn Fridie (Bowdoin)

Ashley George (Stonehill)

Grace Hovde (University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh)

Kendra Klump (Minnesota State University-Mankato)

Mackenzie Lewis (Mesa State)

Rachel Ryan (University of Wyoming)

Molly Walter (University of Mary Washington)

Ginger Whitehead (University of Northern Colorado)

Christina Zier (Central Washington)



Alyssa Baccarella (MIT)

Megan Bonny (Washington State)

Xanni Brown (Radcliffe)

Gabrielle Dixon (Longwood University)

April Fogel (Western Washington)

Evan Hoese (Radcliffe)

Kirsten Miller (Mesa State)

Alyssa Mizell (George Washington)

Natalie Monroig (Shippensburg)

Katie O’Malley (Stonehill)

Ashley Okonta (Notre Dame)

Angelina Pascual (Santa Clara)

Kathleen Stanley (Notre Dame)

Becky Stevens (Bowdoin)

Miranda Wakimoto (Boston University)




Further Information:

Jarrod Beckstrom | Communications Manager | USA Rugby | This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | +1.303.539.0300, ext. 124

Follow USA Rugby on Facebook and Twitter (@usaeaglesrugby)

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars
Add comment


  • No comments found