USA Select XV defeat Tonga 'A' in ARC opener

USA Select XV defeat Tonga 'A' in ARC opener

USA Select XV defeat Tonga 'A' in ARC opener

CORDOBA, Argentina – The USA Select XV defeated Tonga ‘A’ in the opening match of the 2010 Americas Rugby Championship.  With final score was 20-15, there were a handful of lead changes throughout the match, but a gritty second half performance earned the win.

“We’re very pleased to start the tournament with a win,” said Head Coach Eddie O’Sullivan.  “We had a lot of new faces and not a lot of time to prepare.  The team showed great resolve in getting the win.”

The Select XV will challenge tournament hosts, the Argentina Jaguars, in their next match on Sunday October 10.  Results will be posted on


USA Select XV: Tries: Danahy (45’), Enosa (53’), Manoa (64’) Penalties: Malifa (31’) Conversions: Malifa (54’)
Tonga ‘A’ : Tries: Lopou (28’), Vi (48’) Penalties: Lemoto (22’) Conversions: Apikotoa (49’)


USA Select XV
1. Anthony Purpura (Boston RFC) 2. Phillip Thiel (Life) 3. Eric Fry (Unattached) 4. Samu Manoa (San Francisco Golden Gate) 5. Brian Doyle (New York Athletic Club) 6. Patrick Danahy (Life) 7. Matthew Hawkins (Belmont Shore) 8. *Nic Johnson (Denver Barbarians) 9. Shalom Suniula (Brisbane Breakers) 10. Nese Malifa (Glendale Raptors) 11. Zachary Test (Loughbrough University) 12. Andrew Suniula (Chicago Griffins) 13. Alipate Tulievuka (Old Puget Sound Beach) 14. Milemoti Pulu (East Palo Alto) 15. Taivalu Enosa (Belmont Shore)
16. Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate)17. Tala Esera (Tama Laie Lions) 18. Dan LaPrevotte (San Francisco Golden Gate) 19. Vai Notoa (Tama Laie Lions) 20. Benny Mateialona (Life ) 21. Volney Rouse (Te Kawau) 22. Troy Hall (NYAC)
Substitutions: Esera on for Purpura (55’), LaPrevotte on for Doyle (58’), Hall on for Tulievuka (66’), Biller on for Thiel (71’), Notoa on for Hawkins (77’)
Manager: Tristan Lewis
Coach: Eddie O’Sullivan


Tonga ‘A’
1. Viliami Pola 2. Pataleone Vi 3. Makoni Finau 4. Talite Vaioleti 5. Taumei Hikila6. Sione Vaioleti 7. Joseph Kolokihakaufisi 8. *Martin Tupou 9. Soane Havea 10. Fangatapu Apikotoa 11. Tatafu Na´aniumotu 12. Damien Fakafanua 13. Petuliki Mateo 14. Viliami Hakalo 15. Finevea Mesui Lemoto Reserves:


16. Sioeli Faupula 17. Soane Leger 18. Paea Siulangapo 19. Lutika Ilolahia 20. Christopher Aho 21. Tomasi Palu 22. Mahe Fangupo

Add comment


  • No comments found