Women's Division I and II College Championship teams selected

Women's Division I and II College Championship teams selected

BOULDER, Colo. – USA Rugby announced today the Women’s Division I and Division II teams to participate in the 2013 Emirates Airline College Championships, approved by the women’s competitions committee.

Sixteen Division I teams and 32 Division II teams will compete for the national championships, beginning with Regionals across the country the second weekend of April in Allendale, Mich. (Midwest Regionals), Pittsburgh, Penn. (Northeast Regionals), Annapolis, Md. (Southeast Regionals), and Stanford, Calif. (West Regionals).

“There were far more qualified candidates than spots available in the Women’s College Championship due to the depth and breadth of women’s competition,” USA Rugby Collegiate Director Rich Cortez said. “It is encouraging to know the women's game is growing and becoming increasingly competitive in all divisions. This is reflected in the impressive résumés of so many teams.”

Division I representatives:

Midwest – Penn State, West Chester, Northern Iowa, Cougar Women (UT)
Northeast – Norwich, Indiana, Army, Princeton
West – Stanford, New Mexico, Texas A&M, California
Southeast – Navy, brown, Central Florida, Virginia

The Division I Midwest Regionals winner will advance to the National Semifinals against the Southeast Regionals winner, while the West Regionals winner will face the winner of the Northeast Regionals.

Division II representatives:

Midwest – Winona State, UW – Platteville, Indiana (PA), Shippensburg, UW La Crosse, Ill. – Chicago, Grand Valley State, Denison
Northeast – Lock Haven, Clarion, St. Michael’s, SUNY Cortland, Bowdoin, American Int’l, Buffalo, Stonehill
West – UC Santa Cruz, Washington, CSU Northridge, Humboldt St., Washington St., Colo. Mesa, Utah Valley, Long Beach State
Southeast – Appalachian St., Mary Washington, American, SUNY Albany, Quinnipiac, Temple, Lee, Emory

In Division II, all 32 teams will participate in a Round of 32 match on Saturday, April 6, before the winner advances to the Round of 16 (Regionals) from April 12-14.

Visit the College Championships page on the USA Rugby website for the full Division I and Division II Women’s Championship schedule and brackets.

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars
Add comment


  • No comments found