Pools announced for College 7s National Championship

Pools announced for College 7s National Championship

BOULDER, Colo. – The 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship pools have been determined for the three separate divisions competing at this year’s Championship.

Teams across the country participated in over 25 qualifying tournaments in hopes of either winning an automatic berth to Nationals or registering enough wins to be added to the field as an at-large selection. Last weekend’s slate of nine automatic qualifying tournaments wrapped up the sevens campaign leading up the Championships in Greensboro from Nov. 23-24.

After finalizing the three fields amounting to 48 well-deserving clubs, the USA Rugby Collegiate Championship Committee placed the schools in pools based on their success in sevens competition this fall.

Teams that did not win an automatic qualifying event were not eligible to be awarded a number one seed in the Men’s Division I Pool. The Championship Committee also gave consideration to Men’s DI teams from the same region to be placed in separate pools

Men’s Division I

Pool APool BPool CPool DPool EPool F
Arkansas State Saint Mary's Air Force Academy Central Washington Dartmouth Navy
Oregon State Oklahoma Lindenwood Davenport Cal Poly SLO Life
Florida Arizona State San Diego State Auburn South Carolina Colorado State
North Texas Middle Tennessee Arkansas San Jose State North Carolina State Texas

Women's Division

Pool APool BPool CPool D
Norwich Penn State Texas California
Princeton James Madison Stanford Indiana
Georgia Tech Oregon State Ohio State Virginia
Davenport Clemson George Washington Sam Houston State

Men’s Open Division

Pool APool B
James Madison Sonoma State
Principia New Hampshire
Emory UW Stout
LaFayette Southern Conference Winner

The match schedule for the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship can be viewed here. For more information on the College 7s National Championship visit www.USACollege7s.com .

Also, find out how many of this year’s participating schools qualified for Nationals in last week’s tournament recaps:

In the Men’s DI ranks, the Atlantic Coast, Ivy and Southeastern Leagues played their Sevens Conference Championships. Meanwhile, two competitive invitational events were hosted in California. Read more . . .

On the Women’s side, the Big Ten, Ivy and South Independent Leagues held their Sevens Conference Championships. Out west, an impressive field assembled for the Stanford Invitational. Read more . . .

The 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship will be live-streamed on USA Rugby TV, while the Semifinals and Final of each division will be shown on ESPN3. Follow @USARugby on Twitter and use the #College7s hashtag to join the conversation.

Learn how to watch #College7s on ESPN3 >>

Enter the College 7s Pool Contest for your chance to win tickets to this February's Atlanta 7s, the U.S. leg of the IRB Women's Sevens World Series.

Click here for Day 1 Schedule
Click here for Day 2 Schedule

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars
Add comment


  • No comments found