Central Florida, three others in hunt for DI-AA Championship

Central Florida, three others in hunt for DI-AA Championship

BOULDER, Colo. – After winning their round of 16 and eight from April 26-27, Central Florida, University of San Diego, Arizona, and Bowling Green are all heading to Stanford, Calif., to take part in the College National Championship Series.

Central Florida, the reigning Division I-AA Champion, eased through its regional bracket. San Diego, not allowing its long trip to the Northeast slow its efforts to reach the National Championship, won the regional at Penn State. Arizona took down host Stanford in the West, while Bowling Green won its host regional.

Northeast Regional – Penn State University
State College, Pa.
West Virginia 41-24 Princeton
San Diego 55-28 Brown

National Quarterfinal
San Diego 34-14 West Virginia

Southeast Regional – University of Tennessee
Knoxville, Tenn.
Central Florida 50-19 LSU
South Carolina 46-22 Georgia

National Quarterfinal
Central Florida 44-28 South Carolina

Midwest Regional – Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, Ohio
Bowling Green 37-12 Iowa State
Missouri 46-10 Middle Tennessee

National Quarterfinal
Bowling Green 53-10 Missouri

West Regional – Stanford University
Stanford, Ca.
Stanford 24-12 Oregon
Arizona 24-22 Long Beach State

National Quarterfinal
Arizona 27-24 Stanford

Central Florida will have to get past San Diego in the National Semifinal if the Knights are going to have a chance to defend their title. On the other side of the bracket, Arizona will take on Bowling Green. Each Semifinal match will be played at Stanford University’s Steuber Rugby Stadium May 10, and the National Championship match will be May 11. An overview of the entire Men’s DI-AA field can be viewed at www.USARugby.org, and the Semifinal matches, as well as the DI-AA National Championship, will be streamed live on USA Rugby TV.

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars
Add comment


  • No comments found