4 Champions to be crowned in Utah

4 Champions to be crowned in Utah



MAY 18, 2011

USA Rugby will hold its Boy’s High School, Boy’s and Girl’s Under-19 and College Premier Division National Championships at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah.

Four national champions will be crowned this weekend at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah in the Emirates Airline USA Rugby 2011 National Championships.  The Boy’s High School, Boy’s Under-19, and the College Premier Division championship games will be played on Saturday May 21 and the Girls Under-19 title game will get underway on Sunday May 22.


The teams competing in the championship games will be decided in the semifinal rounds which begin Friday, with the exception of a highly-anticipated College Premier Division final between the Cal Golden Bears and the BYU Cougars.  That game kicks off at 7:05 p.m. MDT Saturday at Rio Tinto Stadium and will be broadcast live on ESPN3.com and on tape delay on ESPNU at 8 a.m. MDT Sunday May 22.



Boy’s High School National Championship, 2:30 p.m. MDT (LIVE on UStream.tv/usarugby)

Boy’s Under-19 National Championship, 4:30 p.m. MDT (LIVE on UStream.tv/usarugby)

 Cal v. BYU, College Premier Division National Championship, 7:05 p.m. MDT (LIVE on ESPN3.com)



Girl's Under-19 National Championship, 2 p.m. MDT (LIVE on UStream.tv/usarugby)


Eight teams in each of the three youth divisions (Boy’s HS, Boy’s U19, and Girl’s U19) will all play in the quarterfinals starting on Friday.  The winning teams from the quarterfinal round will move on to the semifinals.  The two undefeated teams in the semis will compete in the national championship game.


All High School and Under-19 quarterfinal and semifinal matches will be played at South Jordan Recreation in South Jordan, Utah.  For a full list of matches and tournament information, please visit http://tinyurl.com/3znz2gm. 


The High School and Under-19 national championship games will be webcast live on USA Rugby’s UStream channel: www.ustream.tv/usarugby.


Match results will be posted on USA Rugby’s website, Facebook Fan Page (facebook.com/usarugby) and Twitter (@usaeaglesrugby).  An information packet about the championships can be found here: http://tinyurl.com/3znz2gm.


Media credentials are available for members of the media wishing to attend the matches held at Rio Tinto Stadium.  A media credential can be attained by completing this application: http://tinyurl.com/42gsnaj.  Credential pickup will be from 10:30 a.m. – 7:30 p.m. on Saturday May 21 at Rio Tinto Stadium.


BOY’S HIGH SCHOOL (All teams listed in order of seeding)

1 - Xavier HS (New York City)

2- Gonzaga HS (Washington D.C.)

3 – Sacramento Jesuit (Sacramento, Calif.)

4 – Charlotte Catholic (Charlotte, N.C.)

5 – Fallbrook HS (Fallbrook, Calif.)

6 – Penn High School (Mishawaka, Ind.)

7 – McQuaid Jesuit (Rochester, NY)

8 – St. Thomas Aquinas (Overland Park, Kansas)



1 – Highland Rugby (Salt Lake City, Utah)

2 – Utah United (Utah)

3 – Kansas City Jr. Blues (Kansas City, Mo.)

4 – Belmont Shore (Long Beach, Calif.)

5 – Cathedral HS (Indianapolis, Ind.)

6 – Union County (Union County, N.J.)

7 – Naples Bears (Naples, Fla.)

8 – West Shore (New Cumberland, Pa.)



1 – Sacramento Amazons (Sacramento, Calif.)

2 – Fallbrook (Fallbrook, Calif.)

3 – Divine Savior Holy Angels (Milwaukee, Wis.)

4 – Lakewood (Lakewood, Ohio)

5 - Kent Crusaders (Kent, Wash.)

6 – West Carroll (New Windsor, Md.)

7 – New York Rugby Club (New York City)

8 –Sebastian River (Sebastian, Fla.)

About USA Rugby
Founded in 1975, USA Rugby is an official member of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and the International Rugby Board (IRB).  The organization has approximately 90,000 members and is responsible for the development of the boys, girls, high school, collegiate and club rugby programs, and ultimately all of the national teams representing the U.S. in international competitions.  The current structure of USA Rugby comprises seven Territorial Unions (TU) and 34 Local Area Unions (LAU) that compete for regional and National Championships.  USA Rugby's national headquarters is located in Boulder, Colo., and is run by full-time staff under the direction of current CEO and President of Rugby Operations Nigel Melville.

Overall Rating (0)

0 out of 5 stars
Add comment


  • No comments found