Truman State


Truman State University is a smaller state school located in Kirksville, Missouri (northeast). Men's Rugby at Truman is a club sport, and is a member of the Heart of America College Conference (Division 1AA). The conference teams include Kansas State, University of Kansas, Oklahoma State, Iowa Sate, University of Missouri, University of Arkansas, and Lindenwood University (the 2012 Division 2 National Champions). Truman Rugby has enjoyed good success over the years and is proud to play in Division 1AA against larger universities. We have a large alumni base and enjoy their support.
Truman Rugby has been in existence since 1978. Truman's strong college commitment started in spring 1989. After some lean years, Truman matured into a strong contender, qualifying for the USA Rugby College Division 1 Round of 16 four years in a row - from 1996 to 1999 - and making the Elite 8 in 1997, 1998, and 1999. Truman finished the fall 2012 season with a 3-1 league record, with wins over K-State, KU, and OSU and a loss to Lindenwood. We will play Arkansas, Missouri and Iowa State in spring 2013.

Prospective Players

To be college eligible, all players must be full-time undergraduates seeking their first bachelors degree, and less than 5 years from high school graduation. As a club sport Truman accepts all interested participants, and regularly field two sides each weekend. Our conference plays a split-season in the fall (Sept-Nov) and spring (Feb-Apr). Interested players should contact us via email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.