Minnesota W

Minnesota W


The University of Minnesota Women's Rugby Club is university club sport that competes with other Division 1 teams across the Midwest. The team takes pride in strong camaraderie, supportive fans and excellent practice and game facilities.
  • 1978: U of M Rugby Program founded
  • 1988: The team wins the National Championship!
  • 2004: the U of M wins the Midwest title but comes up short at DII Nationals, losing in the semi final and finishing third
  • 2006: Program moves up to DI and qualifies for playoffs as one of the top eight teams in the Midwest
  • 2011: The team qualifies for Midwest DI Final Four

Along with team achievements, the University of Minnesota Rugby Program is proud to have many players advance to become USA Eagles. These players include Karen Ryan, Morgan Whitehead, Mary Sullivan, Lori Reese, Christy Nixon, Cynthia Bystrak, Jane Tierny, Kristy Lear, Sarah Mulder as well as Christy Ringgenberg who is currently on contract with the USA Sevens team.

Prospective Players

We are always excited to welcome new players on to the team! There are no tryouts, starting positions are based on performance and practice attendance. Our team plays both A and B side matches in order to ensure all players time on the field. The University of Minnesota Rugby Program accepts interested students of all skill and fitness levels, with any or no rugby experience. Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information!